Skip to content

Linux distributions

OrbStack supports 15 different Linux distros, including almost all popular distros and some less common ones:

  • Alma
  • Alpine
  • Arch
  • CentOS
  • Debian
  • Devuan
  • Fedora
  • Gentoo
  • Kali
  • NixOS
  • openSUSE
  • Oracle
  • Rocky
  • Ubuntu
  • Void

Creating a new machine is equally easy, regardless of the distro you choose.

Distro versions

By default, new machines are created with the latest stable version of your chosen distro. You can change the version when creating a machine from the command line or GUI. For example, to create a new machine with Ubuntu 22.04 LTS (codename Jammy):

orb create ubuntu:jammy
orb create ubuntu:jammy

More examples:

  • Alma Linux 8: orb create alma:8
  • Alpine edge: orb create alpine:edge
  • Debian testing (bookworm): orb create debian:bookworm
  • Devuan beowulf: orb create devuan:beowulf
  • Fedora 36: orb create fedora:36
  • openSUSE Tumbleweed: orb create opensuse:tumbleweed

Custom distros

Support for custom distros and images is planned. Please vote on the feature request if you're interested.